As many as four Deans of the Dibrugarh University have tendered their resignations.

The resignations were handed over to the Vice Chancellor Dr Ranjit Tamuli on Monday.

The Deans who resigned stated that they felt humiliated by withdrawal of a certain section in a notification issued by the VC without taking them into confidence.

The Deans in their resignation letter stated that “there is a breach of trust and it is humiliating to them.”

The Deans who have tendered their resignations are Dr Ajanta Borgohain from the school of commerce and management, Dr Dilip Majumdar from the school of earth, atmospheric science, environment & energy, Dr Lilakanta Nath from the school of science and engineering and Dr Naba Kumar Handique from the school of humanities, social science & law.

It is to be noted here that after Dr Tamuli took over as the Vice Chancellor on July 16, he had held a meeting regarding the appointment of deans in the university.

After this a circular had been issued which had removed the Deans from the Choice Based Credit System.

Reportedly, the Deans of the university had taken exception at being notified over the new arrangement without any prior information. Of the seven deans in the university, four have resigned.