India’s medal shower continues in the 2018 Asian Games at Jakarta.

India has won silver in the mixed 4x400m. This was the first ever mixed 4×400 event at the Asian Games.

The Indian team comprised of Hima Das, Mohammad Anus, MR Poovamma and Arokia Rajiv. India won silver while Bahrain bagged gold. The Indian team clocked 3.15.

In a big disappointment for India and Assam in Jakarta. In a huge anti climax in the second women’s 200m semi final today, the 400m silver medallist Hima Das got disqualified from the race after she surprisingly made a false start.

Replays showed that she got of the blocks a little too early before the gun shot signalled the start of the race. The growing burden of expectations probably got the better of the extremely talented 18 year old who perhaps in a bid to not lose out on even a split second could not hold her nerve when it mattered and by virtue laid off her challenge in the 200m race category rather meakly.

Meanwhile, India’s Dutee Chand qualified for the 200 m final by claiming the top spot in the heats clocking 23 seconds.

Manjit Singh in a historic moment for India  won the gold medal in the men’s 800 m race event. Manjit came back from behind at the very last 50 metres to emerge winner.

Earlier,  PV Sindhu settled for silver after losing women’s singles final to World No. 1 Tai Tzu Ying of Chinese Taipei in straight sets 13-21, 16-21.

Nonetheless, this match will go down in the history of Indian Badminton. No Indian had ever reached the final of a singles event at the Asian Games before. This is India’s first silver medal at the Asiad.

It is also the first time that India has won two individual medals at the Asian Games with Sindhu’s counterpart Saina Nehwal clinching bronze in the single’s event.

The Women’s compound archery team comprising of Muskan Kirar, Madhumita Kumari and Jyoti Surekha lost 228-231 to Republic of Korea in the Gold medal match.

The men’s team too settled for Silver losing to the same opponent like their female counterpart.

Men’s compound archery team comprising of Rajat Chauhan, Aman Saini and Abhishek Verma were impressive in their performance claiming lead quite a few times before the scores were tied on 229 each after the 24 shots.

It was a tie in the shoot-off as well after which Korea bagged Gold because they had hit the bull’s eye more times in the final.