Former Governor of Haryana, Professor Kaptan Singh Solanki took oath as the 17th Governor of Tripura at the Raj Bhavan in Agartala after the expiry of the term of outgoing Governor Tathagata Roy.

Kaptan Singh was sworn in, in the presence of Chief Justice of the Tripura High court.

Earlier in the day, Tathagata Roy who will next assume charge as the governor of Meghalaya was felicitated on behalf of the Tripura Government and Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb, Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Devbarma, Assembly Speaker Rebati Mohan Das, Chief Whip Kalyani Roy, Minister of Education Ratan Lal Nath, Revenue Department minister NC Debbarma among others were present at the ceremony held at the former Raj Bhawan of Pushpvant Bihari in the Kunjban area of Agartala.

Addressing media persons Roy said that his stay in the state has been very peaceful and thanked everyone who had supported him during his tenure.