A big revealation by the National Commission for Scheduled Tribes about granting Scheduled Tribes to six communities of Assam. Amidst clamor for granting ST status to the six communities, it has come to light that the Centre and the state government is yet to move the commission regarding the issue.

NCST Chairman Nanda Kumar Sai further revealed that both the centre and the state government has not furnished any facts or information to the commission for granting ST status to the six communities namely- Moran, Motok, Koch Rajbongshi, Tai Ahom, Chutia and Tea Tribes.

It may be mentioned, that the a delegation of the national commission for scheduled tribes was on a visit to different areas inhabited by tribal people in Assam since May 28. The commission also got into deliberations with officials of different autonomous development councils.

Meanwhile, the NCST chairman’s revelation comes in stark contrast to Chief Minister Sarbananda SOnowal who had assured representatives of the six communities that the state government will take up the issue with the Centre. During the meeting held on March 15 earlier this year also had promised that the government was committed to push the demand for early disposal of the issue.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here