The NDPP is leading by almost 42,000 votes much ahead of rivals NPF.

Counting begun at about 8 in the morning and is currently underway. The bypolls that were held on May 28 recorded an overall voting percentage of 86.73.

The voting went peacefully, however, an incident of mob damaging an EVM machine has come to fore in Mokokchung district.

The Nagaland seat contest is mainly between the two regional fronts of the Nagaland People’s Front (NPF) and the People’s Democratic Front (PDF) consisting of the NDPP and BJP.

The seat fell vacant when Neiphiu Rio resigned from it to become Chief Minister of Nagaland.

While the PDF has put up former Chief Minister Tokheho Yephtomi as their candidate, the opposition NPF has former Chief Minister SC Jamir’s son Apok Jamir running for them.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here