Voting for the lone Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland is underway with the Neiphiu Rio led Nationalist Democratic Peoples’ Party and TR Zeliang led Nagaland Peoples’ Front going for a head to head fight.

Brisk voting is underway across the state, with a high 70 per cent voting reported till 4 PM. The election to the seat was necessitated after Chief Minister Rio resigned as a Lok Sabha member in February.

It will be a test of strength between the NPF supported by the Congress and the ruling PDA. The PDA which has the NDPP and the BJP as its major constituents has fielded former minister Tokheho Yepthomi while the NPF has fielded C Apok Jamir as its candidate.

The BJP which had won an absolute majority in the 2014 general elections with 282 seats, lost seven seats in Lok Sabha by-elections held in the past four years and its present tally is 274.