Over 70 percent polling was reported in Nagaland where the voting for the by-poll to lone Lok Sabha seat in the state was held.

The polling was peaceful overall barring an incident where a mob damaged EVM machines. The Neiphiu Rio led Nationalist Democratic Peoples’ Party and TR Zeliang led Nagaland Peoples’ Front are in a head to head contest in the state.

Voters turned up early to exercise their franchise with over 40 percent polling recorded by 11am. The percentage rose to 60 per cent by 1 pm. Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio was also seen casting his vote.

The election to the seat was necessitated after Chief Minister Rio resigned as a Lok Sabha member in Februrary. The PDA which has the NDPP and the BJP as its major constituents has fielded former minister Tokheho Yepthomi while the NPF has fielded C Apok Jamir as its candidate.

The BJP which had won an absolute majority in the 2014 general elections with 282 seats, lost seven seats in Lok Sabha by-elections held in the past four years and its present tally is 274.