In what can be termed as a historic day in Karnataka, BJP’s B.S. Yeddyurappa was sworn-in as the state Chief Minister for the third time at the Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru.

Yeddyurappa took oath as the 23rd chief minister of Karnataka after the Supreme Court’s decision to not put a stay on the swearing-in while conducting a post-midnight hearing.

Wherein Congress and JD(S) pleaded for the same citing BJP’s inadequate strength in the assembly to stake claim at forming the state government.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by top leaders of the state, including workers of the BJP. However, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP Chief Amit Shah gave the Karnataka swearing-in a skip.

Meanwhile, angry members of the congress are staging a protest at the Vidhan Soudha against the swearing in of BJP Leader BS Yeddyurappa as Chief Minister despite the BJP not winning more than half the number of seats in the just concluded Karnataka Assembly polls..