External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj chaired an interactive session on the Act East Policy in New Delhi today.

Chief Ministers of all eight North Eastern states – Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Sikkim, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura attended the meeting.

Senior officials from the respective States who deal with policy issues related to the Act East Policy also accompanied the respective chief ministers.

Vice Chairman of Niti Aayog – Rajiv Kumar and Minister of State for External Affairs – VK Singh along with Secretaries of the Ministry of DoNER, Tourism and North Eastern Council also participated in the discussions.

Following the successful ASEAN India Commemorative Summit that was hosted by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on January 25, this meeting underscored Prime Minister Modi’s vision of keeping the Northeast at the heart of India’s “Act East Policy”.