The NPP has won the Williamnagar seat in Meghalaya, polls to which were held on April 27.

NPP candidate Marcuise Marak garnered over 9500 votes to emerge victorious from a constituency considered a Congress bastion till now.

Sitting Congress legislator and former minister Deborah Marak managed to secure 4517 votes only, whereas Independent candidate Sengbath Marak was second with 4698 votes.

Meanwhile, NCP candidate and widow of Jonathone N Sangma, Krinila N Marak secured 4009 votes. The poll to the Williamnagar seat in Meghalaya was deferred following the killing of NCP candidate Jonathone N Sangma by GNLA militants.

The NPP has been leading the race since the first round followed by Congress and then IND, with this win the NPP tally in the assembly goes up to 20.

However, the tides changed for the Congress in the second when the independent candidate took over the second place.