Portfolios have been allocated to the newly inducted ministers of the Sarbananda Sonowal led Assam government.

Siddhartha Bhattacharya has been named the new Education Minister of the the state. He will also hold the Guwahati Development Department, Law & Justice department portfolios.

Meanwhile, former education minister Himanta Biswa Sarma will be the new PWD Minister, relieved from Education, Tourism & GDD departments. He however, retains Finance and Health & Family Welfare departments. Parimal Suklabaidya was holding the PWD portfolio earlier.

Among the other ministers who were sworn in yesterday, Sum Ronghang was given the Hills Area Development and Mines and Minerals portfolios while Phani Bhushan Choudhury got Food and Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs and Pension and Public Grievance.