Seven of the eight ministerial berths lying vacant in the Assam Ministry for the past two years were today filled after seven legislators from the State were sworn-in as ministers in the Sarbananda Sonowal led-Assam Government.

Assam Governor Jagdish Mukhi administered the oath of office and secrecy to the seven new ministers at Raj Bhawan in Guwahati. While, five of the seven new ministers are from the BJP, one each are from ruling BJP’s alliance partners AGP and the BPF.

East Guwahati MLA Siddhartha Bhattacharyya, Diphu MLA Sum Ronghang, Sonari legislator Tapan Gogoi, Jagiroad MLA Pijush Hazarika and Rangia MLA Bhabesh Kalita took oath as ministers.

Veteran AGP leader Phanibhushan Choudhury and BPF’s Chandan Brahma have also made it to the Assam Ministry.

The MLAs who have got cabinet rank are Siddartha Bhattacharya from BJP, BPF legislator Chandan Brahma, AGP MLA Phani Bhusan Chowdhury, and Diphu MLA Sum Ronghang.

On the other hand, Pijush Hazarika, Bhabesh Kalita and Tapan Gogoi have been given the posts of Minister of State with independent charge.

Meanwhile, the seven new ministers expressed their happiness after the oath taking ceremony.