Led by the Congress, seven Opposition parties have initiated the process for the impeachment of Chief Justice of India Dipak Misra, accusing him of “misbehaviour” and “misuse” of authority.

Leveling five specific allegations against the CJI, leaders of the seven Opposition parties met Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, who is also the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, and handed over the notice of impeachment bearing signatures of 71 MPs and seven former MPs, who recently retired. Naidu is likely to seek legal opinion before accepting or rejecting it.

This is the first time that a notice of impeachment against a sitting CJI has been moved, even though there have been cases of impeachment motions against High Court judges.
If the motion is admitted, the law provides for constitution of a three-member committee comprising a Supreme Court judge, Chief Justice of a High Court and a distinguished jurist to look into the complaint.