In a bid to counter the rising insurgent activities in parts of Arunachal Pradesh, the Central government yesterday extended the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act by another six months in three districts and eight police stations of the state bordering Assam.

The Ministry of Home Affairs in a notification yesterday declared, Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts of Arunachal Pradesh as “disturbed” areas under the AFSPA, 1958.

Meanwhile, eight police stations bordering Assam are also included under the AFSPA as per the order, namely; Balemu and Bhalukpong police stations in West Kameng district, Seijosa police station in East Kameng district, Balijan police station in Papumpare district, Namsai and Mahadevpur police stations in Namsai district, Roing police station in Lower Dibang Valley district and Sunpura police station in Lohit district.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here