(BJP)-led NDA dominates Rajya Sabha polls


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance NDA is set to improve its tally in the Rajya Sabha, winning 28 of the 59 seats that went to polls this year.

The Rajya Sabha election results declared on Friday showed that the BJP won 9 of the 10 seats in Uttar Pradesh, and one each in Karnataka, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh.

While 33 Rajya Sabha seats witnessed no election, 26 went to polls on Friday. Of the 33 elected unopposed, 16 were from the BJP, three from its allies and five from the Congress, among others.

The biggest loser from Uttar Pradesh is the Samajwadi Party (SP), which had six out of the 10 Rajya Sabha seats that went to polls, retained only one seat. Union finance minister Arun Jaitley is among the BJP candidates who has entered the Upper House from Uttar Pradesh.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here