‘Cholo Paltai Wave’ comes into effect; Biplab Deb takes oath as CM

Senior BJP leader Jishnu Dev Varma took charge as the Deputy Chief Minister in the newly formed government.


Biplab Kumar Deb, the 48-year-old Tripura BJP president, took oath today as the Chief Minister of Tripura, giving BJP its first chief minister in the state. Biplab Kumar Deb will be leading the BJP-IPFT alliance government that ousted the Manik Sarkar led CPI(M) government.

Biplab Deb taking oath

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was present during the swearing-in ceremony along with BJP national president Amit Shah and outgoing chief minister of Tripura, Manik Sarkar. A host of chief ministers of BJP ruled states across the country also attended the oath taking ceremony.

The BJP-IPFT alliance bagged 43 seats in the 60-member Assembly, thus putting an end to the unchallenged communist party who had been in power in Tripura for 25 long years.

The 9-member Cabinet includes:

  1. NC Deb Barma
  2. Ratan Lal Nath
  3. Sudip Roy Barman
  4. Pranajit Singha Roy
  5. Manoj Kanti Deb
  6. Santana Chakma
  7. Mebar Kumar Jamatia


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.