History has been scripted in Nagaland as Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leader Neiphiu Rio was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Nagaland today.

It was for the first time in the history of Nagaland that the Nagaland Legislative Council was sworn in not inside the Raj Bhavan, but in open air for the whole of Nagaland to witness. Held at Khouchiezie Kohima Local Ground, the ceremony was a massive show of strength by the Bharatiya Janata Party which ensured the presence of some of its top brass leaders from the region as well as the centre and reinstate their new found dominance in this Northeastern part of the country as well. The list of some of the prominent names include BJP President Amit Shah, Union Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Union Minister of State for Home Affairs Kiren Rijiju, BJP national general secretary Ram Madhav, NEDA Convener Himanta Biswa Sarma and Chief Ministers of BJP led states in the North east.

666305 neiphiu rio 1

The ceremony was historic for one more reason. It was on this very ground way back on the 1st December, 1963 that Nagaland was accorded statehood by the then President of India, the late Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan.

Neiphiu Rio, the present leader of the newly found NDPP was sworn in today as the Chief Minister of Nagaland for the fourth time. Prior to this, Rio had already served three consecutive terms as Chief Minister of Nagaland (2003-2008, 2008-2013 & 2013-2014), the only person to do so in the history of the State.

Apart from Neiphiu Rio, the BJP’s Y Patton took oath as the State’s Deputy Chief Minister, along with other cabinet ministers that include:

  1. M. Chang
  2. Kaito Aye
  3. Neiba Kronu
  4. Pangnyu Phom
  5. Paiwang Konyak
  6. Jacob Zhimomi
  7. Metsubo Jamir
  8. Tongpang Ozukum
  9. Kashiho Sangtam
  10. Temjen Imna Along