India scripted history at Port Elizabeth by winning its first ever series across formats on South African soil as they crushed South Africa by 73 runs thereby taking an unassailable 4-1 lead in the 6-match ODI series.

No Indian side since its first tour to South Africa in 1992, has ever won a series across any format. Indian bowlers led by Kuldeep Yadav who took four wickets and Hardik Pandya with two, bowled South Africa out for 201 in 42.2 overs, registering a comprehensive victory, after Rohit Sharma scored a century to help India set a challenging 275-run target on a slow wicket.

South Africa lost their last four wickets for five runs to the spin duo as India claimed a historic maiden series win.

Yuzvendra Chahal also took two wickets for India, while Jasprit Bumrah chipped in with a wicket. On the other hand, Hashim Amla top-scored for the hosts with 71 off 92 balls, before he unfortunately ran himself out.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.